Doughnuts three ways

image

These baked doughnuts are lovely whether coated with crispy sugar, cinnamon or maple glaze.

As is often the case for me, the basic recipe comes from Sallysbakingaddiction.com but it wouldn’t be me if I didn’t feel the need to tweak it.

I recently tasted a delicious cookie and read through the ingredients to see if I could spot the difference. It contained a sugar mix that included treacle. It reminded me of the Peppakakor cookies I loved on our Christmas trip to Bergen (definitely a goal for another baking day and blog post!) so inspired by that, I thought I’d change up the sugar in these a little. I used some treacle and golden syrup to sub in for some of the brown sugar.

Two main lessons I learnt were:
Slow and low – I lowered the temp in this recipe to about 160 as they were browning on the outside before they were cooked.
Doughnut pans are not all made equal! Whilst the silicon was a dream for turning out, the centre of each of the doughnut moulds in the pan wasn’t high enough. This meant a teeny bit too much mixture and the holes totally closed up.

Way too much mixture used in my first batch!:

Anyway after a while I got the hang of the right amount and here is the recipe.

Ingredients:

125g plain flour (all purpose)
1tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp bicarbonate of soda
1/2 tsp Cinnamon
1/2 tsp Nutmeg
1/4 tsp cloves
1/2 tsp all spice
1/2 tsp ginger
1 large egg
2 tablespoons salted butter melted
60g Greek yogurt
30ml milk
35g light brown sugar
15g treacle
15g Golden Syrup
1 1/2 tsp vanilla

Maple glaze: http://sallysbakingaddiction.com/2014/09/17/maple-glazed-donuts/

Method:

1. Preheat oven to 160c.

2. Whisk together the dry ingredients except the sugar.

3. Whisk together the egg, sugar, treacle, golden syrup,  yogurt and milk and vanilla in another bowl. Whisk well to ensure the treacle and golden syrup aren’t stuck to the bottom of the bowl.

4. Tip the wet into the dry until just mixed with no dry clumps.

5. Spoon into a piping bag and cut a decent sized hole in the end. Pipe into the cavities but make sure they are not too full. About half way worked for me but experiment with your doughnut pan.

image

image

6. Bake for 10 minutes roughly but watch carefully. Allow to cool before dipping.

image

I dipped some in the maple glaze (double the above if you like it thick), the others I brushed with melted butter on one side and dipped the wet side into granulated sugar or a equal mix of cinnamon and granulated sugar.

image

Leave a Reply

