Check patterned sponge cake

This cake was fairly simple to make and you could use any flavour. I used sponge and chocolate sponge. You need two layers of each. It works best if they are contrasting colours.

I used a simple sponge recipe by weighing 3 eggs and then using the same amount of flour, butter and sugar. I used half ehite and half light brown sugar in my white sponge. In the chocolate one I used half dark brown sugar and half white. I also used 1/8 cup strong coffee made up and subbed 1/3 of the flour for cocia powder. In both cakes I added 3 tablespoons of 0% greek yogurt for extra moistness (I prefer buttermilk but I didn’t have any and I don’t find the homemade version works as well). 

Cut any domes off the top of each cake.

Then all you have to do is use a large circle cookie cutter (or a paper guide and a knife) and a small cookie cutter and layer them together, alternating each colour. Spread buttercream between each layer. 

I covered mine with buttercream and used it as an excuse to try out some icing effects with limited success! The check pattern turned out well though. 

The only thing I would do differently is place a little thinned buttercream between each circle of cake as it didn’t hold together particularly well when cut. 

One response to “Check patterned sponge cake

Leave a Reply

